Favorite Bible Text

A favorite Scripture text I do not have. However, there are many that I like more than others. Starting with Genesis and God’s declaration that all that He created is “very good.” Then there is God’s promise that the woman’s seed will crush the serpent’s head just two chapters later. This is the first instance of the promise of a savior. Then there is the promise to Abraham of a son and through that son a great nation and through that nation all of the nations will be blessed. Who can forget Hagar and her naming of God as the God “who sees me?” God sees the “vulnerable” of the world and how those who are in power treat them. Of course, there is David at the end of the battle in which his son Absalom is killed, and cries out in mourning for his son. By doing so he displays God’s heart for His enemies as he cries out “would I had died instead of you…”    The Bible tells us that while we were enemies of God we were reconciled to God by the death of His Son. No doubt that is why God calls him (David) a man after His own heart. After the ending of 2 Kings and the exile of the nation the prophets give hope and a promise of a new covenant. Let us fast forward and join Jesus and His disciples at the last supper in Luke 22 where He makes that new covenant with them. And, praise God for His resurrection! Need I say more? There is also the ending of this epic story in Revelation; the new heaven and the new earth with the new Jerusalem where God will dwell with His people. What a glorious story! I know that I skipped many stories but I did not want to make this too long. I’m sorry but I just can not pick one passage of text as my favorite for they are all so very good. If I did pick one and told you that it is my favorite I would be lying.

Leave a comment